Governor Introduction

On behalf of all the governors, welcome to Compton and Up Marden C of E School.

In all schools, day-to-day management of the school is the responsibility of the headteacher. However, the Governing Body is responsible for overseeing all aspects of school life and has 3 statutory responsibilities:

  • Setting the school’s vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils; and
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent.

Our Governing Body comprises 11 governors including three co-opted and one associate, all of whom (apart from the headteacher) are volunteers. We work closely with the headteacher to achieve our shared vision of securing outstanding educational provision which gives every child at the school the best possible start in life.

We are appointed or elected to a number of different governor categories, representing the various groups with an interest in the school. We bring different skills and experience to the Governing Body (co-opted governors are appointed specifically for the skills they offer) and share a keen interest in the education of the children at Compton and Up Marden C of E School and an enthusiasm to help achieve the school’s Vision.

The Full Governing Body meets 4 times a year (once per term plus a meeting specifically to discuss and approve the School Development Plan) to receive and discuss reports and ask questions of the headteacher, senior staff and fellow governors. We have 3 sub Committees namely Premises; Teaching Learning and Curriculum; and Pupil Support which meet once a term to address specific areas and report to the FGB.

In addition to attending meetings, all governors make regular monitoring visits to the school to meet staff and children and check progress against the School Development Plan, and we also attend events and celebrations at the school.

We are always keen to hear from parents, carers and others interested in the progress of the school or perhaps interested in joining the Governing Body. If you would like to contact the governors for any reason, or would like more information on how we manage Governing Body business, please write to us at the school (address your envelope to the “Chair of the Governing Body”). Governors will respond as promptly as possible but please be aware that governors do not attend school on a daily basis. 

Governors' Code Of Conduct

Governors Details Proforma 2017-2018

Governors Details Proforma 2016-2017

Governors Details Proforma 2015-2016

Meet the current Governors:

Claire Inskip, Headteacher

Edward Platt, Elected Parent Governor, Chair

John Wigg, Co-Opted Governor

Sarah Hill, Elected Parent Governor

Reverend Lindsay Yates, Foundation Governor

Carolyn Costello, Foundation Governor

Kerry Jones, Co-Opted Governor

Emma Denyer, Co-Opted Governor & safeguarding governor

Mike Shaw, Elected Staff Governor

Richard Christmas, Associate Member

Carol Vigor, Clerk to Governors